Sewing | Pattern Testing: Haven Acres Mini Collection

DSC_0137

DSC_0146ppdRemember way back, when Tessa was first born?  I tested a pattern called the LOL Swing Top by the uber talented Jenn at Jennuine Designs.  Well, she’s done it again!  This time, though, it’s a mini collection.

First up- the Dressage Leggings (pattern):

DSC_0125 (3)Don’t mind the wrinkles and dirt.  These things are worn often!

Check out the cute bum.  Do not check out the crumbs and rogue strings all over the place.  Oy!

DSC_0127 (3)

There’s a simple leggings version, or the dressage leggings, which allows for all sorts of pattern pairing and color blocking.

The Haven Acres Blouse (pattern):

DSC_0129ppdcropThis is the first version of the blouse, which looks so cute on my little Miss, but was just too snug.  Those fit issues have been worked out and now this blouse is great!  I made 4 of these tops during the testing!  #1

DSC_0135#2 was cut down to make #4.  This is where the back placket was added.

#3DSC_0124 (3)I decided to experiment with a zipper instead of buttons.  I love this one- except that I didn’t change my thread and I wasn’t very careful when sewing.  I was mostly just testing the fit.  But, I like it enough that Tessa wears it- even in public! 🙂

DSC_0160ppd#4 I liked this fabric to match the cap, so I did one more floral version.  This time I used lace for the sleeves and omitted the keyhole. I also did the binding at the neckline differently.  I need to redo it, though. Something got all wonky.

DSC_0134

DSC_0131 (4)ppdand The Sweet Pea Cap (pattern):

DSC_0130 (3)There’s nothing much sweeter than a baby wearing animal eared hats.  I used some corduroy for the outer and the same floral for the lining.  I haven’t made it yet, but I hear there’s a different construction method to help the cap lay smoother.  I will be trying that next.

Tessa’s got a pretty little head, so I added some elastic to the back.

DSC_0129 (3)

Check out the other testers of the Haven Acres Mini CollectionHA Tester TourDSC_0166ppdThese patterns are sized from NB to 12 years.  Really, they are a great value.  There are so many possibilities for each.  Pick up your copy now while they’re on sale!

Haven Acres Blouse

Dressage Leggings

Sweet Pea Cap

And, check out each day of the Tester Tour at Jennuine Life.

One response to “Sewing | Pattern Testing: Haven Acres Mini Collection”

  1. Tessa is such a doll! I love the polka dot top and the one with the lace sleeves.

Leave a comment